Monday, 15 August 2011

Uttarakhand creates four new districts -- Kotdwar, Yamunotri, Didihat and Ranikhet

Written by Anil Singh

On the eve of 65th Independence Day today, Uttarakhand Chief Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank announced the creation of four more districts in the state.The four new districts are -- Kotdwar, Yamunotri, Didihat and Ranikhet -- to provide smooth administration to the people living in these areas.

With the new four states, the total number of districts in Uttarakhand would go up to 17 from the existing 13.

Which districts Lost Ground:

1) Kotdwar would be carved out from Pauri district
2) Yamunotri would be created from Uttarkashi
3) Didihat would be created from Pithoragarh
4) Ranikhet would be created from Almora district

Emphasizing on the need of the formation of new districts, the CM said, small administrative units were good in view of development and accessibility by people living in the areas.

0 constructive comments: