Friday, 9 December 2011

Government issues GO for creation of 4 new districts in Uttarakhand

Written by Anil Singh

You may be aware that, on the eve of 65th Independence Day today, former Uttarakhand Chief Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank announced the creation of four more districts in the state.The four new districts are -- Kotdwar, Yamunotri, Didihat and Ranikhet -- to provide smooth administration to the people living in these areas.

With the new four states, the total number of districts in Uttarakhand would go up to 17 from the existing 13.

Which districts Lost Ground:

1) Kotdwar would be carved out from Pauri district
2) Yamunotri would be created from Uttarkashi
3) Didihat would be created from Pithoragarh
4) Ranikhet would be created from Almora district

Underlining on the need of the formation of new districts, the current CM BC Khanduri, assured the people that the Government is positive on the creation of the new districts.

The latest development in this context is that, Uttarakhand government has issued a Government Order (GO) regarding creation of four new districts of Ranikhet, Didihaat, Kotdwar and Yamunotri, officials said on Thursday.

The GO, issued yesterday, however, did not mention the borders of the districts and their headquarters. The borders and the headquarters would be decided after the state Assembly elections due in February next year. The appointment of District Magistrates and SPs would also be done after the Assembly elections.

0 constructive comments: